Southwest General Hospital

Share Print


Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees
Boards of Trustees: Dedicated Leadership from Our Communities

Since its founding by local communities more than 90 years ago, Southwest General has enjoyed a unique partnership with the communities it serves. Today, the health center is supported by a self-imposed tax levy in Berea, Brook Park, Columbia Township, Middleburg Heights, Olmsted Falls and Strongsville. Representatives from these communities serve on Southwest General's board of trustees, helping to promote effective communication between the health center and its constituencies.


Ex-Officio Trustees
Thomas A. Selden, President & CEO
Kulbir S. Pannu, M.D., Immediate Past President of the Medical Staff

Medical Staff Trustee
Vasu Pandrangi, M.D., Chairman

Trustees At Large
James R. Bastian, Treasurer*
Donald E. Hagen, Ed.D.
Michael D. Kalinich, Sr., Assistant Secretary
Anthony A. Ripepi, Jr.
Alan E. Wheaton

Elected Trustees - Berea
Yvonne Fulimeni
Robert C. Helmer, J.D., Ph.D.
David Thurau
Cheryl Banaszak (C)

Elected Trustees - Brook Park
Thomas Greenlee
Neal M. Jamison
David A. Lambros
Richard A. Salvatore (C)

Elected Trustees - Columbia Township
Wayne E. Brassell
Melvin C. Grills
Henry R. Heidecker (Dick) (C)
David P. Muhek

Elected Trustees - Middleburg Heights
David Bortolotto (C), Secretary
Alan C. Budney, Vice Chairman
Eileen M. Herold
Ronald L. Leach

Elected Trustees - Olmsted Falls
Thomas Kronholz, D.D.S.
Anne L. Pennock
James C. Schneider, D.D.S.

Elected Trustees - Strongsville
David R. Knowles
Thomas W. Laub
Trilok C. Sharma, M.D.*
Duke Southworth

Chairmen Emeriti
Ronald L. Leach*
David P. Muhek
Donald E. Williams**

Trustee Emeritus
James E. Davis
Leroy McCreary

*on both System and Center boards



Ex-Officio Trustees
Thomas A. Selden, President & CEO
Ferdinand M. Plecha, MD, President SWGHC Medical Staff
Babu M. Eapen, M.D., Vice President SWGHC Medical Staff

Southwest Community Health System Appointees
G. Mervin Ault
James R. Bastian*
Mel A. Hauser
R. Terry Krivak
Ronald L. Leach*
Trilok C. Sharma, M.D.*
Lowell E. Walker, Secretary
Raymond J. Wohl

University Hospitals Appointees
Samuel E. Ake, Assistant Secretary
Michael K. Baach
Robert T. Bennett
Mary Alice Frank
Richard Hanson
Deborah Lewis Hiller
Adrian Maldonado, Treasurer
Richard W. Pogue
Sandy L. Robinson, PhD
Cynthia V. Schulz, Vice Chairman
Paul G. Tait
Cindy Zelis, M.D.

Chairmen Emeriti
David P. Muhek**
Donald E. Williams**

Trustee Emeritus
George M. Humphrey, III**

* on both System and Center Boards



Carl K. McLaughlin

Thomas A. Selden, FACHE
President and CEO

Brett C. Hazard
Vice Chairman 

Michael H. Novak

Diane Baker

Nico A. Bolzan
Debbie Brassell
Michael F. Deucher, MD
Mark J. Elliott
Dale R. Finley
Brad Fischer
Victor T. Geraci
William G. Murphy
Thomas P. Perciak
   Chairman Emeritus
L.C. Rao, MD
Susan O. Scheutzow
George G. Szeretvai
Ronald J. Warzel
Edward C. White, MD


How Can We Help You?

MyHealth Banner Phone Numbers Contact Us Pay My Bill Find a Physician Health Connection

Southwest General Earns ‘Top Performer on Key Quality Measures®’ Recognition
Southwest General is proud to announce that the hospital has been recognized as a 2014 Top Performer on Key Quality Measures® by The Joint Commission.
Southwest General Earns an 'A' Grade
Southwest General recently earned an 'A' grade for patient safety in The Leapfrog Group's fall 2015 Hospital Safety Score.
Southwest Community Health System Appoints William A. Young, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer
William (Bill) A. Young, Jr., has been appointed the new president and chief executive officer (CEO) of the Southwest Community Health System, in Middleburg...